Skip to Content

children and teacher sitting on a rub with flashcards


Main Content

Waukesha County Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Open AllClose All
What Accreditation Means to Students

When you attend an accredited college or university, you can expect:

  • A quality education: Accreditation means that a college, university, institution or program meets standards of quality for faculty, curriculum, administration, library, financial management and student services.
  • Financial aid opportunities: You can only obtain federal financial assistance if your college or university has appropriate accreditation from an organization recognized by the United States Department of Education. Learn more about financial aid at WCTC.
  • Credits that transfer: If you ever want to transfer your college credits to continue your education, accreditation is an important factor when a college or university is deciding whether to accept transfer credits from your previous school. Learn more about transfer opportunities at WCTC.
HLC and the Open Pathway

The Higher Learning Commission is a regional accreditation agency that accredits degree granting institutions of higher education that are based in the 19-state North Central region of the United States. Institutions that the Commission accredits are evaluated against the Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation, a set of standards that institutions must meet to receive and/or maintain accredited status.Waukesha County Technical College follows a 10-year cycle the Higher Learning Commission refers to as the Open Pathway. During year 10 of the Open Pathway, the Commission conducts a comprehensive evaluation and site visit. The reaffirmation of accreditation will occur in 2027-28 for Waukesha County Technical College.More information on the Higher Learning Commission or the Open Pathway can be found at

Program Accreditations

Many programs at WCTC receive independent accreditations that apply specific standards for curricula and course content.

  • Culinary Management: accredited by the American Culinary Federation Accrediting Commission
  • Nursing - Associate Degree: accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
  • Dental Hygienist: accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation
  • Medical Assistant: accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
  • Surgical Technology: accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
  • Health Information Technology: accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education
  • Paramedic Technician: accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs upon the recommendation of the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (CoAEMSP)
  • Electrical Engineering Technology and Mechanical Engineering Technology: accredited by the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of ABET,
  • Early Childhood Education: accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children
Additional External Approvals

Several of WCTC’s other occupational programs have received external approval from various governmental and non-governmental agencies as well as consistent support and recognition from the instructional program advisory committees.

  • The Cybersecurity Specialist program is designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (CAE-CD).
  • National Institute for Automotive Service Education
  • Dynamics is certified by the Department of Transportation as an authorized site
  • National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation
  • Motorcycle class graduates certified by the Department of Transportation
  • Sterile Processing Technician program approved by International Association of Hospital Central Service Management
  • Emergency Medical Technician courses/programs and Nursing Assistant approved by Wisconsin Department of Health Services
  • The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services has approved WCTC as comprehensive program for Substance Abuse Disorder/AODA training
  • Criminal Justice - Law Enforcement Academy graduates are certified by the Training and Standards Bureau (Department of Justice)
  • Various Firefighting courses are certified through the WTCE (which are subsequently accredited by the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress)
  • Fire Protection Technician program is recognized as an approved/compliant program by the National Fire Academy’s Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education program
  • Wisconsin Board of Nursing
  • Wisconsin Technical College System
Professional Licensure/Certification Information

WCTC programs that lead to licensure or advanced practice certification satisfy the academic requirements set by the State of Wisconsin. 

Requirements and eligibility vary between professions and states. Please contact the licensing body in the state where you intend to practice to verify whether WCTC's program will meet that body's eligibility requirements. 

View a full list of programs that lead to professional licensure/certification.